Melissa Sapiane's Pages   
Modified - 09/07/2016 03:19pm About Melissa Sapiane Contact Melissa Sapiane | Alert Me When Changed | Remove Alert

Hi!  I am Melissa Sapiane.  I teach Kindergarten here at Liberty School.  The 2016-2017 school year will be my seventeenth year teaching at Liberty.  I look forward to continue working with such a dedicated staff, students, parents, and community.

 

Here at Liberty we expect every student to do their personal best.  And it is with the help of our staff, parents and community that every child can achieve just that. 

 

EDUCATION 

I was born and raised in Petaluma.  I went to Cherry Valley and Bernard Eldridge for Elementary, Kenilworth for Junior High, and Casa Grande for High School.  After High School I went to the JC where I decided to become a teacher.  After completing my GE requirements I went to Sonoma State and received a BA in Environmental Studies.  I then went to Dominican College of San Rafael to get my teaching Credential.  I applied to many schools and fortunately landed the K/1 position here at Liberty.  Two years later the long time kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Bessie retired and I took the Kindergarten position.  Then in 2005 I went back to Dominican to get my Masters Degree in Curriculum & Instruction. 

 

FAMILY

Ever since I was a child I knew that I wanted to work with kids when I grew up.  My house was always filled with kids.  I have a sister that is seven years younger than me and a brother who is 13 years younger than me.  So in a sense, ever since I was seven I have been helping to raise kids.  Since my siblings were so much younger I watched them a lot, but also their friends.  We were always playing games, swimming, and just having fun.

 

In 2002 I met my husband, Rocky, through a family here at Liberty.  We were married in 2005.  We live on Sonoma Mountain in Santa Rosa.  We have an eight and a half year old, Nicole, who will be in third grade, and six and a half year old, Jenna, who will be in first grade this year.  We also have a dog, Apollo,  and 2 cats, Tigger and Mocha. 

 

EXTRA CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES

As a family, we love to go camping.  We like to go to camping areas where we can ride our dirt bikes and swim.  In the summer we love to go boating.  Most often we go to the lake, and every once in a while out into the ocean for some fishing.  We also enjoy going to the beach.  Our favorite place is Monterey.  We especially enjoy whale watching when we go.  In my spare time I like to read, watch movies, garden, hike, cook and bake.